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Maximizing the Effectiveness of Your Ad on AALBC.com
Online advertising is an important tool to help expose your book to a large
number of people at a relatively low cost. While increased exposure does not automatically guarantee a best
seller (there are several factors
which contribute to this); no exposure will certainly guarantee a flop.
The following information will help you understand how on-line advertising in
general, and with AALBC.com in particular, can help increase your book's exposure
and lead to more sales.
Why Advertise Online?
Consider the benefit of having your book prominently displayed
in the window of the most popular book store in town. Image how many more
people will see your book and potentially buy it — simply because it is more
easily noticed. This analogy holds true, perhaps more so, for the
world wide web. The web has the ability to expose your book
to far more people than any physical book store.
Attaining prominent visibility, on-line, is not particularly
easy. Creating your own web site, while important, is not likely
result in a meaningful amount of traffic, in a short period of time. So
what can you to reap the advantages of on-line advertising?
Why Advertise with AALBC.com?
Reach Lovers of Books by and About African-Americans
AALBC.com welcomes 250,000 to over half a
million visitors each month (as of 2004). The number of visitors has increased
every year since our official launch in March of 1998. Our audience is
highly targeted
— people interested in
African American books, authors, events and other related information. In
2004 we sold over 1,500 different titles;
virtually all of these
titles were written by African American authors.
Visitors who have signed up for the
AALBC.com
eNewsletter typically exhibit the following characteristics. With the
exception of Online Usage (which has increased over time) AALBC.com's
demographic characteristics have been consistent across the over 50,000 people
who have subscribed to our eNewsletter from 1998 until 2005.
Gender
16% Male
84% Female |
Age
33% are 30-39
79% are 26-59 |
Education
and Occupation
57% have a college or higher
95% are professional/managerial |
Marital
Status
52% are
single,
30% are married
12% Divorced |
Online Usage
83.2% have been on the Web longer that 3 years |
Read more about
AALBC.com's
Demographics |
AALBC.com is a Respected and Recognized Source for Information on African
American Books and Authors
AALBC.com generates sales both on-line and off. People visit the web site
to learn about new books and discover obscure or forgotten gems. AALBC.com
not only focuses on popular and historically significant authors, but less well
known and self-published authors are "discovered" on our site as well.
Most Frequently Visited Web Site of It's Kind
Do you want to have your book displayed 100,000, 200,000, or more times a month?
Only AALBC.com has to the volume of traffic to display your book or banner
before such a highly targeted audience.
View a comparison of AALBC.com with other web sites that sell or focus on Black
books
Also, visit
http://aalbc.com/aboutus.htm to learn more about AALBC.com
AALBC.com's Simple Pricing Structure
AALBC.com has a
CPM rate of $10 to $30 (as of April 2007). If your ad is
viewed 1,000 times we would
charge at ($10 CPM) $10. See chart below for more detail.
| Views |
$10 CPM |
$20 CPM |
$30 CPM |
| 1,000 |
$10 |
$20 |
$30 |
| 10,000 |
$100 |
$200 |
$300 |
| 20,000 |
$200 |
$400 |
$600 |
| 50,000 |
$500 |
$1,000 |
$1,500 |
| 100,000 |
$1,000 |
$2,000 |
$3,000 |
| 500,000 |
$5,000 |
$10,000 |
$15,000 |
| 1,000,000 |
$10,000 |
$20,000 |
$30,000 |
In addition, you can specify a minimum number of views.
For example, if you wanted to maximize your exposure you could request a minimum
of 100,000 for a two week period.
Alternatively, you could specify a maximum number of views.
You may request that we limit the number of views to say 10,000 to stay within a
predefined budget.
Superior Advertising Campaign Monitoring Software
We provide all advertisers with real-time statistics and
reports for advertising
campaigns. Visit
http://aalbc.com/monitor.htm for more information.
AALBC.com's Strategic Partnerships Extends Reach
AALBC.com
is establishing relationships with other popular websites. Our first
partnership has been forged with
Mosaicbooks.com.
Mosaicbooks.com is one of the leading African American literary sites on the
Internet. Started in May 1996 Mosaicbooks.com has been cited in Essence,
December 2000 "Virtual Literature" and June '98 as "one of our favorite soulful
cyber hangouts;" Black Enterprise, March '99 "BE's Top 50 Websites." Black
Issues Book Review, Publishers Weekly, The New York Times and Washington Post
have all cited Mosaicbooks.com.
You can advertise your book
or company on both the
Mosaicbooks.com
and AALBC.com web
sites — one fantastic rate, two leading websites! Again, our advertising
campaigns provide you with real-time reports, a simple pricing structure, and
the ability to reach a large, but targeted audience very quickly.
More Detailed Information About On-line Advertising
If you are new to advertising on-line, some of the terms can
be confusing. For the sake of clarity lets define a few terms:
Definition of Terms
Campaign - Advertising Campaign, Ad
Campaign; On AALBC.com images are grouped together to create an advertising
campaign. A campaign can contain one or more images. Campaigns may
appear on one or more AALBC.com pages or AALBC.com partner web sites including
Mosaicbooks.com.
Click - Click Through; A click is
registered when a image that displayed on a web page is clicked by a visitor.
Click Through Ratio - CTR; The
relationship between the number of views and clicks of an image or images in a
campaign. The number of clicks is divided by the number of views and is
expressed as a percentage. CTR is used as one gauge to judge the relative
effectiveness of an ad campaign. For example, if an image is displayed 100 times
and is clicked twice; the CPM is 2.00%. A 2% CPM is better than industry
average.
CPM - Cost per thousand (where M
represents the roman numeral for 1,000). AALBC.com has a CPM rate of $10.
If your image is viewed 10,000 times we would charge $100 ($10 x 10).
CR - Conversion Rate; The percentage of visitors (generated by clicks on
a banner ad or book cover)
that result in a sale.
Image - ad, advertisement, book cover,
ad banner; An image is the individual element, usually an image of a book
cover or advertising banner (could also be a Flash component or text) that is
seen and can be clicked by a visitor.
Views; Ad impressions, impression, hit
(loosely) - The number of times an image is downloaded, and presumably, seen
in a visitor's browser.
Things to Consider When Placing Your Ad On AALBC.com
- Ad Placement - Which page or pages do you want
you ad to appear on?
Typically advertisers want homepage placement, as this is often viewed as
the most important page on the web site. Depending upon your ad this
may not necessarily be true.
For example, lets say you are advertising a book of on the life of Maya
Angelou; consider advertising on
Maya
Angelou's AALBC.com page. Angelou's page generates as many page
views as the homepage, but may result in more clicks. Visitors to the
Angelou page are typically looking for information on Maya Angelou
specifically and arrive there as the result of search engine query;
bypassing the homepage.
You may decide to advertise on both the Angelou page and the homepage,
monitor for a week or so, and then restrict your advertisement to the page that
has the highest CTR (click through ratio).
Below is a list of frequently visited AALBC.com pages which may provide an
even more targeted audience, to substitute or supplement homepage placement.
Zane -
http://authors.aalbc.com/zane.htm
Sonia Sanchez -
http://authors.aalbc.com/sonia.htm
Nikki Giovanni -
http://authors.aalbc.com/nikki.htm
Zora Neale Hurston -
http://authors.aalbc.com/zoraneal.htm
Terry McMillan -
http://aalbc.com/authors/terry.htm
Ernest Gaines -
http://aalbc.com/authors/ernest.htmTry this: Think of an
author whose work would appeal to readers of your book. Then do a
Google search
on that author's name. If the name comes up in the top 10 of results, then
that would be a excellent AALBC.com page to advertise on. (Note:
Not all author's pages are available for advertising. AALBC.com can
help you select appropriate pages for ad placement)
- Consider The Size of Your Budget - Depending upon where your ad
is placed, how frequently it is rotated with other ads and how many
different pages you ad appears on; a quarter of a million views ($2,500 @
$10 CPM) can used used up in a few months or a few of weeks.
Determine what your advertising budget is and how you would like to
distribute your views. Lets say you have a $25 per month budget (2,500 views
per month).
We could adjust the frequency of your ad's appearance so that it appears
evenly throughout the month (more or less) rather than being exhausted
within the first hour.
- Consider the AALBC.com Run of Site Promotions - maximize
your book or ad's exposure on AALBC.com consider and AALBC.com "Run of Site
Promotion" where your ad is displayed on virtually every AALBC.com web page.
- Will My Advertisement Generate Book
Sales?
As mentioned at the top of
this page. Advertising on-line will not guarantee book sales.
Indeed, by the time you are ready to advertise your book many of the
factors which contribute to the success of an on-line campaign, for better
or worse, have already
been determined. Some of these factors include:
- Is your Book Cover Compelling?
Does it matter?
— Absolutely! Holding everything else constant a compelling cover
gets more click throughs than a poorly designed or uninteresting cover. People do judge
books (at least upon initial inspection) by their cover. The more
compelling the cover, the more likely it will be clicked, and the more successful
your ad will be in terms of attracting attention, generating a click through
and ultimately leading to a sale.
If the book cover is not great, we can add a compelling statement next to
the book cover or try different locations on our web site. Finally
the target page should really help sell the book and facilitate ease of
purchasing.
Ad banners, on the other hand, can be changed more easily; and should be
redesigned if they are not well done. The average CTR ratio for all
books on AALBC.com is about 1.41%. One indication that your banner or book
cover is not attracting enough attention is if the CTR is, less than 0.5%.
Note: a CTR of 0.5% of about average for the Internet; however given
AALBC.com's audience a 0.5% CTR is relatively low.
Consider the following, actual statistics, of a popular imprint of a major
publisher (see chart below). The average click through ratio 1.98% is
actually about 100 to 20 times the reported industry average (0.020% to 0.050%) . By any standard this
campaign drew a lot of attention. However
Book One stands out with a CTR of 2.64% over 30% higher than the
book with the second highest CTR. The books were rotated on the homepage of AALBC.com and Mosaicbooks.com, in the same positions, for the same period of time and
received almost an identical number of views.
A publisher, for example, can use this information to determine which
books book warrant more attention. The publisher could also try to determine what makes Book
One's cover more compelling, and use this information to improve future book covers. The web
site statistics provided by advertiser account's are an additional, valuable
benefit of advertising on AALBC.com.
|
Book Covers
|
Views
|
Clicks
|
CTR
|
Cost
|
|
Advertiser Book One
|
9,154
|
242
|
2.64%
|
$91.54
|
|
Advertiser Book Two
|
9,150
|
121
|
1.32%
|
$91.50 |
|
Advertiser Book Three
|
9,160
|
180
|
1.97%
|
$91.60
|
|
Advertiser Book Four
|
9,156
|
182
|
1.99%
|
$91.56
|
|
Average
|
9,155
|
181
|
1.98%
|
|
|
Total
|
36,620
|
725
|
1.98%
|
$366.20
|
|
|
Views
|
Clicks
|
CTR
|
|
AALBC
|
33,121
|
610
|
1.84%
|
|
Mosaic Books
|
3,499
|
115
|
3.29%
|
|
Average
|
18,310
|
363
|
1.98%
|
|
Total
|
36,620
|
725
|
1.98%
|
- Is you book or advertisement relevant to your target audience?
Ideally you want to advertise your book or company on a web site that
attracts visitors who are likely to be interested in your product. For
example, a book written in Japanese will not appeal to the average AALBC.com
visitor.
To get sense of what types of books or products might interest an AALBC.com
visitor check out our
visitor demographics, our
best sellers lists, or even our
discussion boards.
- Does the web page, where you direct
visitors further engage the visitor?
Does it help to sell your book? Is it informative? When you
place a banner or book cover on AALBC.com you can direct visitors, who click
your banner, to any web site you like. To ensure the highest
conversion rate you must make sure the destination immediately provides the
visitor with additional information on your product without requiring
additional searching and navigation. For example, it is better to skip
the flash introduction page and bring the visitor directly to the page where
the purchase can be made.
If you are advertising Book A on AALBC.com and a visitor clicks on Book A,
they must be taken to a page where there is more information on Book A --
not a page on Book B or the authors homepage. One should also be able
to purchase the book on the destination web page as well -- no additional
clicks should be required.
Typically an author's web site is used as the destination. However, if
there is no way for one to easily purchase the book on the author's web site
or the author does not have a web site; an AALBC.com profile page or even a
direct link to Amazon can be very effective in maximizing sales.
- How many sales can I realistically expect as a result of my
advertisement?
There is no quick answer to this question
each author and book are different. Here is what we do know;
As mentioned, in items a, b & c, above to maximize your on-line sales you'll
need a reach the right audience, have a compelling cover, and make it easy
to securely purchase your book on-line. In addition there are several
other factors to consider:
The more views the better
In order for a web sites ad to be effective it must been seen potential buyers.
How much traffic does the web site get? Can they substantiate the numbers?
Can the number be validated by a third party?
The More Clicks Throughs the Better
Is the web site target audience likely to click? Are you advertising Nazi
memorabilia on an African American book Web site? Is the banner in a position
to be noticed. Are there too many competing ads. Is the visitor likely to
scroll a lot to see you ad?
Is the book cover itself compelling enough to encourage someone to click?
The Higher the Conversion Rate the Better
Is the customer still interested in the product once they click the ad or book
cover and reach the target site?
Is it easy to make purchase once the customer arrives?
Are the terms favorable; best price, speed of fulfillment, other benefits?
Keep in mind, people who make on-line purchases are price conscious
If you have a book that is priced at $15.00 paperback, are offering no discount
on that price and are charging a few bucks for shipping and handling; I can tell
you right now that will be a tough sale — especially for a unknown, first time
author. There are too many less expensive alternatives.
Find a way to make your book price competitive; or have a very compelling story
or obvious reason to make a visitor willing to pay a premium for a more
expensive book (note: an autographed copy is usually not enough incentive when
the author is obscure).
Be realistic. For the majority of authors selling your book on-line will
not be easy. It takes time to build an audience and a following.
Advertising can certainly help speed the process, but there are very few "over
night sensations" in the book business.
Do the Math
Consider the following example.
A self published author has a book for $14.95 (average price 2004 Paperback adult
fiction title excluding mass market paperback). If the author sells the
book directly, they gross $8.64 [after shipping
(media mail $1.84), materials ($0.50), book unit cost ($4.00) ].
Lets say that your book has a relatively decent (not great but decent) CTR of
1.0% and that you purchased 500 dollars of advertising or 50,000 views.
A click through ratio of 1% would yield 500 click throughs to the author's web
site. In order to
recover the $500 spent on your advertising campaign you need to sell 58 books
($500/$8.64 = 57.87 or 58 books). Therefore 12% of 500 visitors (58/500
0.12 or 12%) who
clicked through would need to purchase your book in order to this self-published
author to "break-even" on the advertising campaign.
A 12% conversion ratio (basically 1 out of 9 visitors who click the ad actually
buy at least one book) is pretty good for an relatively unknown, self-published
author.
Of course a higher CTR would reduce the require conversion ratio. A 2% CTR,
not uncommon for a self published author, would only require a 6% percent CR
— a more realistic rate.
On the AALBC.com web site conversion rates range, during a one month period,
range from 0% (no sales generated after clicking the ad) to 100% (everyone
purchases the book after clicking the ad). We know popular books or
authors have higher conversion rates and less popular ones have lower conversion
rates. Note: The more you advertise the more popular you will become.
The above example completely ignore the visitors who learn about the book via
AALBC.com,
then make their purchases at a physical store or through some other
(untraceable) online mechanism. This example also ignores the benefits inherent
increasing your visibility and name recognition.
So how many books will you sell? We don't know. Your sales will
depend upon your product, the duration of your campaign and the work you put in,
in addition to advertising.
As a new, self published author, if you sell, on-line, 2 or 3 books for every
1,000 views you will be doing quite well. We have had some self-published
authors report no sales as a result of their advertising campaign and we have
had some make our best sellers list.
If your book is enjoyed by readers, word will spread and sales will only grow.
Again this takes time, effort and money. Remember, if people do not know
about your book they can not buy it.
Final Thoughts
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On-line Ads Can Generate Sales - Both On-line and in Brick & Mortar Stores
I often get email from visitors who write something like this; "I just
finished reading a terrific new book, that I purchased at my local store, and I
leaned about on your web site, thanks".
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On-line Advertising Helps Build Book Awareness and Name Recognition
On-line advertising is a great way to generate on-line and off-line word of moth
promotion. I've received a tremendous amount of feedback from both authors
and publishers who have learned about each other through AALBC.com.
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Current Events Can Improve Results
A perfect time to launch an advertising campaign is when your title;
(1) Relates to a popular news item - the popularity of "Urban Fiction" continues to drive sales
across all books in the genre including a renewed interest in the work of
Donald Goines;
(2) Relates to an prominent individual who has recently passed - biographies or
other book relating to that individual do better during these periods
(3) Addresses a hot topics in the
media - "The Down Low" phenomenon, Bill Cosby's comments, 9-11, etc.
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Generation of Book Sales is Not the Only Reason to Advertise
The success of your advertising campaign can help you gauge your appeal to your
target audience.
-
Make Sure it is Easy to Purchase your Book Online
Reminder when a visitor clicks on your ad, they need to be sent to a page where
a purchase can be easily made. The web site should be secure, accept
credit cards and complete the sale in two clicks or less.
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Make Sure Your Book is as Good as it Can Be
I've saved this bit of advise for last. However it really should have been
the first thing on this page. If it is not too late for you to take advantage of
this advise, please heed.
-
Have your manuscript edited by a professional
editor - ask for and check the editor's references
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Have your book cover designed by a professional -
ask for and check the cover designer's references
-
Get the basics done - obtain an ISBN, get
distribution
-
Promote, Promote, Promote - Reach out to books
clubs, radio stations, book stores, magazines and newspapers. Get business
cards made. Send your book to reviewers. Add your book title and a
link to purchase it to your email signature, etc, etc - consider hiring a
publicist with experience in the book industry - ask for and check the
publicist's references.
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Take advantage of on-line advertising.
How Do I Get Started With My AALBC.com Advertising Campaign?
Visit
http://aalbc.com/adbanner.htm or call 866-603-8394 email
Troy Johnson for more information.
AALBC.com's Clients Have Included:
Here is a list of just some of the publishing companies that have advertised
with AALBC.com (not to mention well over 100 individual authors)
References used for this Article Include:
AALBC.com
http://aalbc.comReferences include
AALBC.com's own website statistics and information obtained from advertising
campaigns of current or past advertisers. Names of specific
advertisers were not provided for privacy considerations. |
DoubleClick
http://www.doubleclick.com/
DoubleClick was a excellent sources for industry averages and properties of
effective advertising campaigns |

http://www.alexa.com/Alexa, an Amazon
company, provided information regarding website statistics. For example, Visit
http://aalbc.com/otherwebsites.htm
for a comparison of AALBC.com with other web sites which support promote,
support and sell books written by Black authors |
Related Links
Writers Resources - Information
http://aalbc.com/writers/
Obtain information on editors, book cover designers, literary agents and
more.

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