Click for a larger image of Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy

Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy
by Bruce Watson

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $27.95
    Format: Hardcover, 384 pages
    Classification: Nonfiction
    ISBN13: 9780670021703
    Imprint: Knopf
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann and Pearson PLC
    Borrow from Library

    Read Our Review of Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy


    Book Description:
    A majestic history of the summer of ’64, which forever changed race relations in America

    In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers’ shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom.

    This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning, is now the subject of Bruce Watson’s thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.

    book cover Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy by Bruce WatsonMore books like Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn And Made America A Democracy.


    Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.