Click for a larger image of The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries

The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries
by Clyde W. Ford

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $13.95
    Format: Paperback, 256 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9780738707853
    Imprint: Midnight Ink
    Publisher: Llewellyn Publications
    Parent Company: Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd.
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:
    Winner of the 2006 Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) for Best Mystery/Suspense/Thriller! This gritty detective thriller, set in New York City, relates one African-American man’s riveting quest for truth and redemption.

    Framed for murder during a failed drug bust, former NYPD officer John Shannon spends two years in jail before his release on appeal. Eager to find the true killer and clear his name, he enjoys two scant minutes of freedom before being brutally arrested, knocked unconscious, and whisked away to the Office of Municipal Security, run by a former CIA director. Refusing their job offer, Shannon heads home to make amends with his estranged wife and discovers terrifying news: his teenage son J. J., who has become mixed up with a drug gang, has been kidnapped. Shannon’s desperate search for J. J. is complicated by a new warrant for his arrest, the mysterious murder of his former partner, and Shannon’s personal struggle with anger, violence, and justice.

    Written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Walter Mosley, this is the first in a series of thrillers featuring the compelling character of John Shannon.

    Click here to download Book Club Questions for The Long Mile, prepared by author Clyde W. Ford!

    book cover The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries by Clyde W. FordMore books like The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries.


    Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.