American Book Award Winners

Before Columbus Foundation Logo First presented in 1980, by the Before Columbus Foundation, “the American Book Awards Program respects and honors excellence in American literature without restriction or bias with regard to race, sex, creed, cultural origin, size of press or ad budget, or even genre. There would be no requirements, restrictions, limitations, or second places. There would be no categories. The winners would not selected by any set quota for diversity, because diversity happens naturally. Finally, there would be no losers, only winners. The only criteria would be outstanding contribution to American literature in the opinion of the judges.”

Here we present the American Book Award recipients of African descent.

2 Books Honored in 1980


Snake Back Solos
by Quincy Troupe

Publication Date:
List Price: $5.95
Format: Paperback, 79 pages
Classification: Poetry
ISBN13: 9780918408112
Imprint: Reed Cannon & Johnson Pub
Publisher: Reed Cannon & Johnson Pub
Parent Company: Reed Cannon & Johnson Pub
Borrow from Library

Read a Description of Snake Back Solos

Book Description: 
Selected poems written 1969 - 1977 by African-American poet Quincy Troupe.


Mouth on Paper
by Jayne Cortez

Publication Date:
List Price: Unavailable
Format: Paperback, 64 pages
Classification: Poetry
ISBN13: 9780686233121
Imprint: Bola Press
Publisher: Bola Press
Parent Company: Bola Press
Borrow from Library

Read a Description of Mouth on Paper

Book Description: 
Collection by acclaimed African-American poet. Drawings by Mel Edwards.