Click for a larger image of Turning Point

Turning Point
by Paula Chase

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $16.99
    Format: Hardcover, 384 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    Target Age Group: Middle Grade
    ISBN13: 9780062965660
    Imprint: Greenwillow Books
    Publisher: HarperCollins
    Parent Company: News Corporation
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:

    When being yourself isn’t good enough, who should you be?

    Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Ren e Watson.

    Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt’s every rule. For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she’s been accepted to.

    But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo’s older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo’s success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible? What happens when you discover that being yourself isn’t good enough? How do you fight back?

    Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys. Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Ren e Watson.

    —School Library Journal (starred review)


    book cover Turning Point by Paula ChaseMore books like Turning Point may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Turning Point.