Click for a larger image of Under a Painted Sky

Under a Painted Sky
by Stacey Lee

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $16.99
    Format: Hardcover, 384 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    Target Age Group: Young Adult
    ISBN13: 9780399168031
    Imprint: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:
    Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a
    professional musician—not an easy thing if you’re a girl, and harder
    still if you’re Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of
    fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life.
    With the help of a runaway slave named Annamae, Samantha flees town
    for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for
    two girls, so they disguise themselves as Sammy and Andy, two boys
    headed for the California gold rush.

    Sammy and Andy forge a powerful bond as they each search for a link to
    their past, and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. But when
    they cross paths with a band of cowboys, the light-hearted troupe turn
    out to be unexpected allies. With the law closing in on them and new
    setbacks coming each day, the girls quickly learn that there are not
    many places to hide on the open trail.

    An unforgettable story of friendship and sacrifice—perfect for fans of
    Code Name Verity.


    book cover Under a Painted Sky by Stacey LeeMore books like Under a Painted Sky may be found by selecting the categories below:




    Subscribe