Click for a larger image of My Mother’s House

My Mother’s House
by Francesca Momplaisir

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $26.95
    Format: Hardcover, 304 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9780525657156
    Imprint: Knopf Publishing Group
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:“A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence … This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison’s Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy to try to assert truths that ordinary language and realistic imagery cannot communicate … Momplaisir’s debut introduces her as an author to watch.” —Kirkus

    For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person’s damages can have on the lives of others—told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors

    When Lucien flees Haiti with his wife, Marie-Ange, and their three children to New York City’s South Ozone Park, he does so hoping for reinvention, wealth, and comfort. He buys a rundown house in a community that is quickly changing from an Italian enclave of mobsters to a haven for Haitian immigrants, and begins life anew. Lucien and Marie-Ange call their home La Kay—"my mother’s house"—and it becomes a place where their fellow immigrants can find peace, a good meal, and legal help. But as a severely emotionally damaged man emigrating from a country whose evils he knows to one whose evils he doesn’t, Lucien soon falls into his worst habits and impulses, with La Kay as the backdrop for his lasciviousness. What he can’t even begin to fathom is that the house is watching, passing judgment, and deciding to put an end to all the sins it has been made to hold. But only after it has set itself aflame will frightened whispers reveal Lucien’s ultimate evil.
    At once an uncompromising look at the immigrant experience and an electrifying page-turner, My Mother’s House is a singular, unforgettable achievement.


    book cover My Mother’s House by Francesca MomplaisirMore books like My Mother’s House may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about My Mother’s House.