Click for a larger image of Pieces of Why

Pieces of Why
by K. L. Going

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $16.99
    Format: Hardcover, 224 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9780803734746
    Imprint: Kathy Dawson Books
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann and Pearson PLC
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:
    From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes—perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

    Tia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia’s dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can’t sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions—questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.

    Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

    book cover Pieces of Why by K. L. GoingMore books like Pieces of Why may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Pieces of Why.


    Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.