Click for a larger image of Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery: Poems

Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery: Poems
by Pamela Sneed

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $12.00
    Format: Paperback
    Classification: Poetry
    ISBN13: 9780805054743
    Imprint: Holt McDougal
    Publisher: Macmillan
    Parent Company: Verlagsgruppe Georg von Holtzbrinck
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:
    When daddy pushed me
    and girlhood innocence
    out my bedroom window
    I picked up the shattered pieces of myself
    and became a woman

    Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery is lyrical and provocative, humorous and potent as it tackles both personal and contemporary issues of enslavement, sexuality, psychological trauma, and physical abuse. From beginning to end some of these poems chart the journey that is life and one woman's cycle of dependency as she recovers her lost identity. Thematically, it is bound by a writer's search for love and fight for freedom, drawing on the spirit and will of Harriet Tubman, the image of the bloated body of Emmett Till, the bombing of Philadelphia Move, and lesbian love. In the tradition of June Jordan and Sapphire, Pamela Sneed presents an in-your-face, powerful, and stirring debut.



    book cover Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery: Poems by Pamela SneedMore books like Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery: Poems may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery: Poems.


    Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.