AALBC.com LogoCopyright © 1997-2017, All Rights Reserved — https://aalbc.com — troy@aalbc.com — Tel: 347-692-2522

Lovely
by Autumn J. Bright



    Publication Date:
    List Price: $13.95 (store prices may vary)
    Format: Paperback
    Classification: Fiction
    Page Count: 318
    ISBN13: 9780986192340
    Imprint: A Light Bulb Publishing
    Publisher: A Light Bulb Publishing
    Parent Company: A Light Bulb Publishing

    Book Description: 

    One girl’s complicated journey to adulthood.

    They say bad things happen to good people, but that old cliché doesn’t bring much comfort to Lovely Duval. In a time of fading innocence, at a young age, Lovely takes on a life of responsibility after a tragic accident strikes home. And although performing household duties and helping out with a terminally ill parent on a daily basis is sometimes hard work for the preteen, she embraces it all with a positive attitude simply out of sheer love and devotion.

    But when a nomadic family member returns to small-town Willisburg, South Carolina, her challenges escalate—cutting her childhood short and propelling her down a path of binge eating and self-destruction. Now a young woman, Lovely has to make a decision. Will she succumb to the demons of her past? Or will she fight for change and allow love to heal her heart?

    Reviews: “Tender and bighearted, Lovely is a real and relatable heroine who charts her own course in a courageous coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of Chris Cleave, Sapphire, and Sarah Dessen.” — Booklist

    “It’s unusual to find a coming-of-age story that moves beyond the early teen years to follow the protagonist into new adulthood, but this is just one of the strengths in Lovely…” —D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review



    Tell us what do you think about Lovely.







    Vote for Your Favorite Black Author of the 21st Century
    25 African Male Writers You Should ReadAfrican Men: 25 You Must Read

    AALBC.com Bestselling BooksAALBC.com Bestselling Books


    Printed: November 22, 2017, 12:48 pm
    ☆ Mission
    To Celebrate Black Culture Through Literature and Literary Nonfiction to Readers of all Backgrounds and Ages; and Advocate for Independent Media

    ☥ About Us
    Started in 1997, AALBC.com (African American Literature Book Club) is the largest, most frequently visited web site of its kind. More
    Customer Service
    Advertising Rates
    Advertiser Login
    Contact Us – FAQ
    Give Us Feedback
    AALBC on Pinterest AALBC on Facebook AALBC on Twitter
    AALBC RSS Feed AALBC on Youtube Email AALBC