Click for a larger image of God’s Will and Other Lies: Stories

God’s Will and Other Lies: Stories
by Penny Mickelbury

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $15.95
    Format: Paperback, 152 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9780997243925
    Imprint: BLF Press
    Publisher: BLF Press
    Parent Company: BLF Press
    Borrow from Library

    Read Our Review of God’s Will and Other Lies: Stories

    Paperback Description:

    In this stunning departure from her mystery writing, Penny Mickelbury’s collection of stories God’s Will and Other Lies, attends to the lives of Black women, mostly aging and elderly, all determined to face life with strength and grace.

    A nearly blind woman is determined to venture out into the world alone, and must face the consequences of her travels. A woman estranged from her community ponders the meaning of hearsay and its devastating consequences. A middle-aged woman leaves the danger of the city only to find it lurking in her own backyard. And in the novella, “Into the Fire,” Mickelbury follows the life of a southern family as they strive for success amidst the violence and uncertainty of 1960s Detroit.

    In beautiful and exacting prose, Mickelbury gives voice to an often-overlooked coterie of women in this superb collection of fiction.

    book cover God’s Will and Other Lies: Stories by Penny MickelburyMore books like God’s Will and Other Lies: Stories may be found by selecting the categories below: