Click for a larger image of Muted

Muted
by Tami Charles

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $18.99
    Format: Hardcover, 400 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    Target Age Group: Middle Grade
    ISBN13: 9781338673524
    Imprint: Scholastic Press
    Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
    Parent Company: Scholastic Inc.
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds!

    Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.

    For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.

    So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean Mercury Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights — plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it.

    Until they’re not.

    Denver begins to realize that she’s trapped in Merc’s world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken.

    Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl’s dreams can be used against her — and what it takes to fight back.



    book cover Muted by Tami CharlesMore books like Muted may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Muted.