Click for a larger image of Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird

Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird
by Sarah Bird

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $18.95 (store prices may vary)
    Format: Paperback
    Classification: Nonfiction
    Page Count: 304
    ISBN13: 9781477318683
    Imprint: University of Texas Press
    Publisher: University of Texas Press
    Parent Company: University of Texas at Austin

    Book Description:

    When Sarah Bird arrived in Austin in 1973 in pursuit of a boyfriend who was "hotter than lava," she found an abundance of inspiration for storytelling (her sweetheart left her for Scientology, but she got to taste a morsel of Lynda Bird Johnson’s poorly preserved wedding cake as a temp worker at the LBJ Library). Sarah Bird went on to write ten acclaimed novels and contribute hundreds of articles to publications coast to coast, developing a signature voice that combines laser-sharp insight with irreverent, wickedly funny prose in the tradition of Molly Ivins and Nora Ephron

    Now collecting forty of Bird’s best nonfiction pieces, from publications that range from Texas Monthly to the New York Times and others, Recent Studies Indicate presents some of Bird’s earliest work, including a prescient 1976 profile of a transgender woman, along with recent calls to political action, such as her 2017 speech at a benefit for Annie’s List.

    Whether Bird is hanging out with socialites and sanitation workers or paying homage to her army-nurse mom, her collection brings a poignant perspective to the experience of being a woman, a feminist, a mother, and a Texan—and a writer with countless, spectacular true tales to tell us.



    book cover Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah BirdMore books like Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about Recent Studies Indicate: The Best of Sarah Bird.