AALBC.com LogoCopyright © 1997-2017, All Rights Reserved — https://aalbc.com — troy@aalbc.com — Tel: 347-692-2522

To Funk and Die in LA (A D Hunter Mystery)
by Nelson George



    Publication Date:
    List Price: $24.95 (store prices may vary)
    Format: Hardcover
    Classification: Fiction
    Page Count: 224
    ISBN13: 9781617755859
    Imprint: Akashic Books
    Publisher: Akashic Books
    Parent Company: Akashic Books

    Book Description: 


    "Ex-bodyguard D Hunter travels from Brooklyn to Los Angeles to investigate the circumstances surrounding his grandfather’s murder in the fourth entry in this series by critic and journalist George…read this for its passionate and unresolved argument about the still-beating heart of R&B."
    —Kirkus Reviews"To Funk and Die in LA is a supercharged spin through the dynamic, ever-changing neighborhoods of urban LA. Nelson George’s new book is full of music, secrets, heart, and more than a little heartbreak."
    —Nina Revoyr, author of Southland"Inventive and well-written…I really enjoyed To Funk and Die in LA."
    —Don Winslow, author of SavagesPraise for the D Hunter Series:"D Hunter is as world weary, yet steadfast, as Philip Marlowe, Spenser, Dave Robicheaux, or Easy Rawlins."
    —Library Journal (starred review, Pick of the Month)"Written in the spirit of authors such as Walter Mosley and Donald Goines…The book blends music from the past with thug appeal of the present to appeal to young and old alike."
    —Baltimore Times, on The Lost Treasures of R&BTo Funk and Die in LA, the fourth book in the D Hunter crime-fiction series, brings the ex-bodyguard to the City of Angels on a very dark mission when his grandfather, businessman Daniel "Big Danny" Hunter, is shot dead in a drive-by. Why would someone execute a grocery store owner? D soon finds there was more to Big Danny’s life than selling loaves of bread. The old man, it turns out, was deeply involved with Dr. Funk, a legendary musical innovator who has become a mysterious recluse.Most of the novel takes place in the LA neighborhoods of Crenshaw, Koreatown, and Pico-Union—areas where black, Asian, and Latino cultures intersect away from the glamour of Hollywood—and echoes of the 1992 riots play a significant role in D’s investigation. In the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Walter Mosley, D Hunter rides through the mean streets of Los Angeles seeking truth and not always finding justice.

    Tell us what do you think about To Funk and Die in LA (A D Hunter Mystery).







    Vote for Your Favorite Black Author of the 21st Century
    25 African Male Writers You Should ReadAfrican Men: 25 You Must Read

    AALBC.com Bestselling BooksAALBC.com Bestselling Books


    Printed: November 23, 2017, 8:10 pm
    ☆ Mission
    To Celebrate Black Culture Through Literature and Literary Nonfiction to Readers of all Backgrounds and Ages; and Advocate for Independent Media

    ☥ About Us
    Started in 1997, AALBC.com (African American Literature Book Club) is the largest, most frequently visited web site of its kind. More
    Customer Service
    Advertising Rates
    Advertiser Login
    Contact Us – FAQ
    Give Us Feedback
    AALBC on Pinterest AALBC on Facebook AALBC on Twitter
    AALBC RSS Feed AALBC on Youtube Email AALBC