John Newbery Medal Winning and Honored Books

The Newbery Medal or Honor Seal

First awarded in 1922, The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year. Virginia Hamilton, in 1975, was the first African American writer to win the medal. As of 2021, five African American writers have won the medal and 27 have been honored. Approximately a third of these honors were bestowed in the last 5 years. Learn more about this award at the ALA Website.

Below are the Newbery Winning and Honored books which were written by, or about, people of African descent.

One Book Honored with The Newbery Medal or Honor in 2021

2021 – Newbery Honor

Box: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom
by Carole Boston Weatherford, Illustrated by Michele Wood

Publication Date:
List Price: $17.99
Format: Hardcover, 56 pages
Classification: Nonfiction
Target Age Group: Middle Grade
ISBN13: 9780763691561
Imprint: Candlewick Press
Publisher: Walker Books
Parent Company: Walker Books
Borrow from Library

Read a Description of Box: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom

Book Description: