6 Books Published by Hanover Square Press on Our Site — Book Cover Mosaic

Click for more detail about Don’t Cry For Me by Daniel Black Don’t Cry For Me

by Daniel Black
Hanover Square Press (Feb 01, 2022)
Read Detailed Book Description

Don’t Cry for Me is a perfect song.”—Jesmyn Ward

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker

As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob’s tumultuous relationship with Isaac’s mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob’s role as a father and his reaction to Isaac’s being gay.

But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace.

With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don’t Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love’s hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.


Click for more detail about Righteous Troublemakers: Untold Stories of the Social Justice Movement in America by Al Sharpton Righteous Troublemakers: Untold Stories of the Social Justice Movement in America

by Al Sharpton
Hanover Square Press (Jan 11, 2022)
Read Detailed Book Description

Bestselling author Reverend Al Sharpton brings to light the stories of the unsung heroes of the Civil Rights movement, drawing on his unique perspective in the history of the fight for social justice in America.

“This is the time. We won’t stop until we change the whole system of justice.”—Rev. Al Sharpton

While the world may know the major names of the Civil Rights movement, there are countless lesser-known heroes fighting the good fight to advance equal justice for all, heeding the call when no one else was listening, often risking their lives and livelihoods in the process.

Righteous Troublemakers shines a light on everyday people called to do extraordinary things—like Pauli Murray, whose early work informed Thurgood Marshall’s legal argument for Brown v. Board of Education, Claudette Colvin, who refused to give up her seat on a segregated bus months before Rosa Parks did the same, and Gwen Carr, whose private pain in losing her son Eric Garner stoked her public activism against police brutality. Sharpton also illuminates the lives of more widely known individuals, revealing overlooked details, historical connections, and a perspective informed by years of working on the front line of the social justice movement, to provide a behind-the-scenes look at the wheels of justice and the individuals who have helped advance its cause.

Also, don’t miss Reverend Sharpton’s previous book, Rise Up: Confronting a Country at the Crossroads. Michael Eric Dyson calls it “a gift from Al Sharpton to us.”


Click for more detail about The Perfect Day to Boss Up: A Hustler’s Guide to Building Your Empire by Rick Ross The Perfect Day to Boss Up: A Hustler’s Guide to Building Your Empire

by Rick Ross
Hanover Square Press (Sep 07, 2021)
Read Detailed Book Description

New York Time Bestsellers

A captivating and inspiring guide to building an untouchable empire from mud to marble, no matter what obstacles stand in the way

Rick Ross is a hip-hop icon and a towering figure in the business world, but his path to success was not always easy. Despite adversity and setbacks, Ross held tight to his vision and never settled for anything less than greatness. Now, for the first time, he shares his secrets to success, offering his own life as a road map to readers looking to build their own empire. Along the way he reveals:

  • How to turn your ambition into action
  • Tips for managing and investing your money
  • Inside stories from his business and music ventures
  • Why failure is central to success
  • Secrets to handling stressful situations
  • How to build the perfect team

As Ross explains, “It doesn’t matter what’s going on. Even the most dire situation is just another opportunity to boss up.” Intimate, insightful and brimming with no-nonsense advice, The Perfect Time to Boss Up is the ideal book for hustlers everywhere.


Click for more detail about Hurricanes: A Memoir by Rick Ross Hurricanes: A Memoir

by Rick Ross
Hanover Square Press (Nov 03, 2020)
Read Detailed Book Description

New York Time Bestsellers

“A gripping journey.”—People

The highly anticipated memoir from hip-hop icon Rick Ross chronicles his coming of age amid Miami’s crack epidemic, his star-studded controversies and his unstoppable rise to fame.

Rick Ross is an indomitable presence in the music industry, but few people know his full story. Now, for the first time, Ross offers a vivid, dramatic and unexpectedly candid account of his early childhood, his tumultuous adolescence and his dramatic ascendancy in the world of hip-hop.

Born William Leonard Roberts II, Ross grew up “across the bridge,” in a Miami at odds with the glitzy nightclubs and yachts of South Beach. In the aftermath of the 1980 race riots, he came of age at the height of the city’s crack epidemic. All the while he honed his musical talent, overcoming setback after setback until a song called “Hustlin’” changed his life forever.

From his first major label deal to the controversies, health scares, arrests and feuds he had to transcend along the way, Hurricanes is a revealing portrait of one of the biggest stars in the rap game and an intimate look at the birth of an artist.


Click for more detail about Rise Up: Confronting a Country at the Crossroads by Al Sharpton Rise Up: Confronting a Country at the Crossroads

by Al Sharpton
Hanover Square Press (Sep 29, 2020)
Read Detailed Book Description

A rousing call to action for today’s turbulent political moment, drawing on lessons learned from Reverend Sharpton’s unique experience as a politician, television and radio host, and civil rights leader.

When the young Alfred Charles Sharpton told his mother he wanted to be a preacher, little did he know that his journey would also lead him to prominence as a politician, founder of the National Action Network, civil rights activist, and television and radio talk show host. His enduring ability and willingness to take on the political power structure makes him the preeminent voice for the modern era, a time unprecedented in its challenges.

In Rise Up, Reverend Sharpton revisits the highlights of the Obama administration, the 2016 election and Trump’s subsequent hold on the GOP, and draws on his decades-long experience with other key players in politics and activism, including Shirley Chisholm, Hillary Clinton, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and more.

With a foreword by Michael Eric Dyson, Rise Up offers timeless lessons for anyone who’s stood at the crossroads of their personal or political life, weighing their choices of how to proceed.


Click for more detail about Grand: A Grandparent’s Wisdom for a Happy Life by Charles Johnson Grand: A Grandparent’s Wisdom for a Happy Life

by Charles Johnson
Hanover Square Press (May 05, 2020)
Read Detailed Book Description


"Demanding, bighearted, and generous—we should all be so lucky to have such a grandfather."—Kirkus Reviews

"Johnson reflects on the joys of being a grandparent in this warm, inspiring collection offering advice and life lessons."—National Examiner

"Warmly written…. There’s enough fascinating grist for the mill to engage almost anyone."—National Catholic Reporter