Antigua Barbuda International Literary Festival 2008


Antigua Barbuda International Literary Festival 2008 Friday, November 7, 2008 (96 photos)

Photo of a few of the authors and industry professionals who participated in the 2008 Festival


November 7-9, 2008

Jolly Beach Resort & Spa

Special Offer for Book Clubs!

Bring 5 or more members of your book club to Antigua for the Festival, and we"ll arrange for a private dinner for your group and one of our authors at a premiere Antiguan restaurant.

You choose from a list of participating authors"first come, first served, so act quickly!  Participating authors include: Junot Diaz, Tina McElroy Ansa, Eric Jerome Dickey and others (see the current list of participating authors)

The Festival will pay transportation costs and the author's meal tab, and make all necessary arrangements for your party.

All-inclusive Hotel Package $805 per person*


Accommodation for 4 nights/5 days

Registration for full participation in Festival

All meals and house brand drinks

Transfers from airport to hotel and return

Hotel taxes and service fees

Entertainment on property

* based on double occupancy; extra nights $135 per person


To make reservations for your book club, contact Pam Arthurton at Carib-World Travel, or call 268-480-2987

Look out for a special promotion for book clubs


Partial Author Line-up

Tina McElroy Ansa

Novelist, publisher, filmmaker, teacher and journalist, organizer of the Sea Island Writers Retreat, and author of the new novel "Taking After Mudear"


Junot Diaz

Named by New Yorker Magazine as one of the top 20 writers for the 21st century and author of "The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao,"  selected by Time as the best novel of 2007


Eric Jerome Dickey

Author of 17 novels, many of which have appeared on the New York Times and other best-selling lists. In 2006 he was selected Male Author of the Year at The 2nd Annual African-American Literary Award Show

Lorna Goodison

Jamaican poet and recipient of the Musgrave Gold Medal as well as professor at the University of Michigan



S. James Guitard

Best-selling author and syndicated columnist who also serves as a featured consultant for the Anointed Author Workshop Series, a workshop for aspiring Christian authors



Marie Elena John

Antiguan author whose 2006 debut novel, "Unburnable," was short-listed for the 2007 Hurston-Wright Legacy Awards in the Debut Fiction Category



Stacey Evans Morgan

Screenwriter and writer/producer of UPN's hit show The Parkers and the NAACP Image Awards Show


Mary B. Morrison

Novelist, poet and non-fiction author who conducts workshops on self-publishing. Author of the best seller "Sweeter Than Honey"


Victoria Christopher Murray

Christian-centered novelist and author of an inspirational teen fiction series


Elizabeth Nunez

Trinidadian-born novelist and winner of the 2001 American Book Award as well as chair of the English department at Medgar Evers College


Roscoe Orman

Television and film actor who played "Gordon" for 30 years on PBS" acclaimed Sesame Street as well as a poet and author of a memoir about the show and a children's book


Arnold Rampersad

Trinidadian-born biographer and literary critic whose first book, "The Life of Langston Hughes," was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. His recent book, a biography of Ralph Ellison, has met with considerable critical praise



Victoria Rowell

Distinguished, versatile actress (The Cosby Show, The Young and the Restless) as well as author and filmmaker who is an international advocate for foster children


Esmeralda Santiago

Puerto Rican-born author of memoirs, novels, essays and opinion pieces as well as a producer and writer of documentary and educational films


Delilah Winder

Celebrity chef, restaurant owner and cookbook author who has appeared on various Food Network shows. Winner of Oprah's "Favorite Mac-n-Cheese" competition



Last Updated: Friday, November 7, 2008

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.