American Book Award Winners

Before Columbus Foundation Logo First presented in 1980, by the Before Columbus Foundation, “the American Book Awards Program respects and honors excellence in American literature without restriction or bias with regard to race, sex, creed, cultural origin, size of press or ad budget, or even genre. There would be no requirements, restrictions, limitations, or second places. There would be no categories. The winners would not selected by any set quota for diversity, because diversity happens naturally. Finally, there would be no losers, only winners. The only criteria would be outstanding contribution to American literature in the opinion of the judges.”

Here we present the American Book Award recipients of African descent.

1 Books Honored in 2005


The Contemporary African American Novel: Its Folk Roots and Modern Literary Branches
by Bernard W. Bell

Publication Date: Jan 21, 2005
List Price: $80.00
Format: Hardcover, 488 pages
Classification: Nonfiction
ISBN13: 9781558494725
Imprint: University of Massachusetts Press
Publisher: University of Massachusetts Press
Parent Company: University of Massachusetts

Read a Description of The Contemporary African American Novel: Its Folk Roots and Modern Literary Branches

Book Description: 
In 1987 Bernard W. Bell published The Afro-American Novel and Its Tradition, a comprehensive history of more than 150 novels written by African Americans from 1853 to 1983. The book won the Distinguished Scholarship Award of the College Language Association and was reprinted five times. Now Bell has produced a new volume that serves as a sequel and companion to the earlier work, expanding the coverage to 2001 and examining the writings and traditions of a remarkably wide array of black novelists.