Click for a larger image of The United States V. Jackie Robinson

The United States V. Jackie Robinson
by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, Illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $17.99
    Format: Hardcover, 40 pages
    Classification: Nonfiction
    Target Age Group: Picture Book
    ISBN13: 9780062287847
    Imprint: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
    Publisher: HarperCollins
    Parent Company: News Corporation
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:

    A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson’ss court martial trial—an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace—from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin’ss Big Words.

    Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

    As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day—separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

    So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie’ss rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.



    book cover The United States V. Jackie Robinson by Sudipta Bardhan-QuallenMore books like The United States V. Jackie Robinson may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about The United States V. Jackie Robinson.