Click for a larger image of The Girl at the Back of the Bus

The Girl at the Back of the Bus
by Suzette D. Harrison

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $15.00
    Format: Paperback, 314 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9781800191747
    Imprint: Bookouture
    Publisher: Bookouture
    Parent Company: Bookouture
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:

    An absolutely heart-wrenching historical novel

    I watched in awe as Miz Rosa stopped those men on the bus with her clear, calm "no" and I thought about that word. What if I said no? What if I refused to follow the path these White folks wanted for us? What if I kept this precious baby?


    Montgomery, Alabama, 1955

    On a cold December evening, Mattie Banks packs a suitcase and leaves her family home. Sixteen years old and pregnant, she has already made the mistake that will ruin her life and disgrace her widowed mother. Boarding the 2857 bus, she sits with her case on her lap, hoping that the driver will take her away from disaster. Instead, Mattie witnesses an act of bravery by a woman named Rosa Parks that changes everything. But as Mattie strives to turn her life around, the dangers that first led her to run are never far away. Forging a new life in a harsh world at constant risk of exposure, Mattie will need to fight to keep her baby safe.


    Atlanta, Georgia, present day

    Ashlee Turner is going home. Her relationship in ruins, her career held back by prejudice, she is returning to the family who have always been her rock. But Ashlee’s home is not the safe haven she remembers. Her beloved grandmother is dying and is determined to share her story before she leaves…


    When Ashlee finds a stack of yellowing letters hidden in her nana’s closet, she can’t help the curiosity that compels her to read, and she uncovers an old secret that could wreak havoc on her already grieving family. As she tries to make sense of what she has learned, Ashlee faces a devastating choice: to protect her loved ones from the revelations, or honor her grandmother’s wishes and follow the path to the truth, no matter where it may lead.


    For readers of The Help, Orphan Train and Before We Were Yours comes a beautiful and heartbreaking novel about redemption, family secrets and the spirit of survival found at the hardest time.


    Readers love The Girl at the Back of the Bus


    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "My, My, My and Wow, just Wow!!… What an excellent and amazing story!… From the first word until the last, I was so enthralled and riveted… Whew!!… Hallelujah!! This is an awesome book!! A definite must-read!!" Geri’s Things


    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "Where do I start? For the first time, I am left speechless after reading a book. Speechless because the narrative just grabbed me by my core… I laughed, but mostly cried. A must-read for lovers of women’s historical fiction. Five stars." Goodreads reviewer




    book cover The Girl at the Back of the Bus by Suzette D. HarrisonMore books like The Girl at the Back of the Bus may be found by selecting the categories below: