John Newbery Medal Winning and Honored Books

The Newbery Medal or Honor Seal

First awarded in 1922, The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year. Virginia Hamilton, in 1975, was the first African American writer to win the medal. Learn more about this award at the ALA Website.

Below are the Newbery Winning and Honored books which were written by, or about, people of African descent.

One Book Honored with The Newbery Medal or Honor in 2000

2000 – Newbery Winner

Bud, Not Buddy
by Christopher Paul Curtis

Publication Date: Sep 14, 2004
List Price: $8.99
Format: Mass Market Paperback, 288 pages
Classification: Fiction
Target Age Group: Middle Grade
ISBN13: 9780553494105
Imprint: Random House Children’s Books
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Parent Company: Bertelsmann

Read a Description of Bud, Not Buddy

Book Description: 

It’s 1936, in Flint, Michigan, and when 10-year-old Bud decides to hit the road to find his father, nothing can stop him.