List of Important Book Fairs, Festivals and Conferences

Events Section showcasing Book Events, Fairs, Festivals, and Conferences taking place (2019 and 2020)

Check out our detailed list of book event information.


  1. Mississippi Book Festival
    Saturday, August 17, 2019 – Jackson, Mississippi
  2. Beijing International Book Fair
    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 to Sunday, August 25, 2019 – Beijing, China
  3. Onyxcon
    Friday, August 23, 2019 to Sunday, August 25, 2019 – Atlanta, Georgia
  4. Leimert Park Village Book Fair
    Saturday, August 24, 2019 – Los Angeles, California
  5. The Hampton Roads Indie Author Book Festival and Fundraiser
    Saturday, August 24, 2019 – Hampton, Virginia
  6. AJC Decatur Book Festival
    Friday, August 30, 2019 to Sunday, September 1, 2019 – Decatur, Georgia
  7. National Conference of African American Librarians
    Wednesday, August 5, 2020 to Sunday, August 9, 2020 – Tulsa, Oklahoma
  8. Baltimore Book Festival
    Friday, September 28, 2018 to Sunday, September 30, 2018 – Baltimore, Maryland
  9. Library of Congress National Book Festival
    Saturday, August 31, 2019 – Washington, DC, District of Columbia
  10. Open Book Cape Town
    Wednesday, September 4, 2019 to Sunday, September 8, 2019 – Capetown, South Africa
  11. Carolina Mountains Literary Festival
    Thursday, September 5, 2019 to Saturday, September 7, 2019 – Burnsville, North Carolina
  12. Festival of Women Writers
    Friday, September 6, 2019 to Sunday, September 8, 2019 – Hobart, New York
  13. Digital Book World
    Tuesday, September 10, 2019 to Thursday, September 12, 2019 – Nashville, Tennesse
  14. Independent Authors Book Expo
    Saturday, September 14, 2019 – Roselle, New Jersey
  15. Act Like an Author, Think Like a Business Conference
    Thursday, September 19, 2019 to Saturday, September 21, 2019 – Las Vegas, Nevada
  16. ZEE JLF at Boulder
    Friday, September 20, 2019 to Sunday, September 22, 2019 – Boulder, Colorado
  17. The Allegheny Regional Festival of Books
    Friday, September 20, 2019 to Saturday, September 21, 2019 – Bedford, Pennsylvania
  18. Fall Into Fiction
    Saturday, September 21, 2019 – Emeryville, California
  19. Brooklyn Book Festival
    Sunday, September 22, 2019 – Brooklyn, New York
  20. Kingston WritersFest
    Wednesday, September 25, 2019 to Sunday, September 29, 2019 – Ontario, Canada
  21. The Cavalcade of Authors
    Friday, September 27, 2019 to Sunday, September 29, 2019 – Chicago, Illinois
  22. SCIBA Trade Show
    Saturday, September 28, 2019 to Sunday, September 29, 2019 – Pomona, California
  23. Read My World
    Saturday, August 10, 2019 to Monday, August 12, 2019 – Amsterdam, Netherlands
  24. Burlington Book Festival
    Friday, September 27, 2019 to Sunday, September 29, 2019 – Burlington, Vermont
  25. South Dakota Festival of Books
    Thursday, October 3, 2019 to Sunday, October 6, 2019 – Brookings & Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  26. New York Comic Con
    Thursday, October 3, 2019 to Sunday, October 6, 2019 – New York, New York
  27. Black Authors & Readers Rock Weekend
    Friday, October 4, 2019 to Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Oxon Hill, Maryland
  28. West Virginia Book Festival
    Friday, October 4, 2019 to Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Charleston, West Virginia
  29. Southern Minnesota Book and Art Festival
    Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Henderson, Minnesota
  30. African American Literary Awards Show
    Saturday, October 5, 2019 – New York, New York
  31. Collingswood Book Festival
    Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Collingswood, New Jersey
  32. Black Ink: A Charleston African-American Book Festival
    Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Charleston, South Carolina
  33. Seattle Urban Book Expo
    Saturday, October 5, 2019 – Seattle, Washington
  34. Alaska Book Week
    Sunday, October 6, 2019 to Sunday, October 13, 2019 – , Alaska
  35. Fall for the Book
    Thursday, October 10, 2019 to Saturday, October 12, 2019 – Fairfax, Virginia
  36. Southern Festival of Books
    Friday, October 11, 2019 to Sunday, October 13, 2019 – Nashville, Tennessee
  37. Morristown Festival of Books
    Friday, October 11, 2019 to Saturday, October 12, 2019 – Morristown, New Jersey
  38. Twin Cities Book Festival
    Saturday, October 12, 2019 – Minneapolis, Minnesota
  39. Fort Worth BookFest
    Saturday, October 12, 2019 – Fort Worth, Texas
  40. The High Desert Book Festival
    Saturday, October 12, 2019 – Hesperia, California
  41. The Seattle Antiquarian Book Fair
    Saturday, October 12, 2019 to Sunday, October 13, 2019 – Seattle, Washington
  42. Virginia Children’s Book Festival
    Wednesday, October 16, 2019 to Friday, October 18, 2019 – Farmville, Virginia
  43. Frankfurter Buchmesse (Frankfurt Book Fair)
    Wednesday, October 16, 2019 to Sunday, October 20, 2019 – Frankfurt, Germany
  44. Wisconsin Book Festival
    Thursday, October 17, 2019 to Sunday, October 20, 2019 – Madison, Wisconsin
  45. Brattleboro Literary Festival
    Thursday, October 17, 2019 to Sunday, October 20, 2019 – Brattleboro, Vermont
  46. Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards Ceremony
    Friday, October 18, 2019 – Washington, District of Columbia
  47. Boston Book Festival
    Saturday, October 19, 2019 to Sunday, October 20, 2019 – Boston, Massachusetts
  48. Vegas Valley Book Festival
    Saturday, October 19, 2019 – Las Vegas, Nevada
  49. Literary Festival of Charlotte
    Saturday, October 19, 2019 – Charlotte, North Carolina
  50. Minnesota Black Author’s Expo
    Saturday, October 19, 2019 – Minneapolis, Minnesota
  51. Vancouver Writers Fest
    Monday, October 21, 2019 to Sunday, October 27, 2019 – Vancouver, Canada
  52. International Festival of Authors
    Thursday, October 24, 2019 to Sunday, November 3, 2019 – Toronto, Canada
  53. The Christian Book Lover’s Retreat
    Thursday, October 24, 2019 to Sunday, October 27, 2019 – Charlotte, North Carolina
  54. National Black Book Festival
    Friday, October 25, 2019 to Saturday, October 26, 2019 – Houston, Texas
  55. Ake Arts and Book Festival
    Friday, October 25, 2019 to Monday, October 28, 2019 – Ikeja, Nigeria
  56. Books by the Banks
    Saturday, October 26, 2019 – Cincinnati, Ohio
  57. Texas Book Festival
    Saturday, October 26, 2019 to Sunday, October 27, 2019 – Austin, Texas
  58. Sharjah International Book Fair
    Wednesday, October 30, 2019 to Saturday, November 9, 2019 – Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
  59. Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention
    Thursday, October 31, 2019 to Sunday, November 3, 2019 – Dallas, Texas
  60. Louisiana Book Festival
    Saturday, November 2, 2019 – Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  61. York Book Expo
    Saturday, November 2, 2019 – York, Pennsylvania
  62. Tampa Bay Times Festival of Reading
    Saturday, November 9, 2019 – St. Petersburg, Florida
  63. Portland’s Book Festival
    Saturday, November 9, 2019 – Portland, Oregon
  64. Kentucky Book Fair
    Sunday, November 10, 2019 to Saturday, November 16, 2019 – Frankfort, Kentucky
  65. Mosaic Literary Conference
    Saturday, November 16, 2019 – Bronx, New York
  66. Miami Book Fair International
    Sunday, November 17, 2019 to Sunday, November 24, 2019 – Miami, Florida
  67. National Book Awards
    Wednesday, November 20, 2019 – New York, New York
  68. Bluffton Book Festival
    Thursday, November 21, 2019 to Saturday, November 23, 2019 – Bluffton, South Carolina
  69. Abantu Book Festival
    Thursday, December 5, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019 – Soweto, South Africa
  70. Mboka Festival of Arts, Culture and Sport
    January 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Banjul, The Gambia
  71. Tampa Bay Black Heritage Festival
    Friday, January 10, 2020 to Sunday, January 19, 2020 – Tampa, Florida
  72. ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival
    Thursday, January 23, 2020 to Monday, January 27, 2020 – Jaipur, India
  73. ALA Midwinter Meeting
    Friday, January 24, 2020 to Tuesday, January 28, 2020 – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  74. Rancho Mirage Writers Festival
    Wednesday, January 29, 2020 to Friday, January 31, 2020 – Rancho Mirage, California
  75. Detroit Book City
    February 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Detroit, Michigan
  76. Havana International Book Fair
    February 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Havana City, Cuba
  77. African American Children’s Book Fair
    Saturday, February 1, 2020 – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  78. Virginia Festival of the Book
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Charlottesville, Virginia
  79. Black Writers On Tour
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Los Angeles, California
  80. Paris Book Fair
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Paris, France
  81. Wimbledon BookFest
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – London, United Kingdom
  82. Southwest Florida Reading Festival
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Fort Myers, Florida
  83. Dahlonega Literary Festival
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Dahlonega, Georgia
  84. Oxford Conference for the Book
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Oxford, Mississippi
  85. Kingston Book Festival
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Kingston, Jamaica, W.I.
  86. Tucson Festival of Books
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Tucson, Arizona
  87. New York Antiquarian Book Fair
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – New York, New York
  88. Venice Book Fair and Writers Festival
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Venice, Florida
  89. London Book Fair
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – London, United Kingdom
  90. Ujamaa Book Festival
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Alexandria, Virginia
  91. National Black Writers Conference Biennial Symposium
    March 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Brooklyn, New York
  92. AWP Conference
    Wednesday, March 4, 2020 to Saturday, March 7, 2020 – San Antonio, Texas
  93. National Black Writers Conference
    Thursday, March 26, 2020 to Sunday, March 29, 2020 – Brooklyn, New York
  94. Dayton Book Expo
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Dayton, Ohio
  95. Alabama Book Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Montgomery, Alabama
  96. Arkansas Literary Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Little Rock, Arkansas
  97. Los Angeles Times Festival of Books
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Los Angeles, California
  98. Southern Kentucky Bookfest
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Bowling Green, Kentucky
  99. Newburyport Literary Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Newburyport, Massachusetts
  100. Ohioana Book Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Columbus, Ohio
  101. University Spring Literary Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Athens, Ohio
  102. Virgin Islands Literary Festival and Book Fair
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
  103. Annapolis Book Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Annapolis, Maryland
  104. Belize Writers’ Conference
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Ambergris Caye, Belize
  105. Children’s Africana Book Awards Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Washington, District of Columbia
  106. Florida Antiquarian Book Fair
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – St. Petersburg, Florida
  107. Sydney Writers’ Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Sydney, Australia
  108. The Hampton University Literary Festival
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Hampton, Virginia
  109. Bologna Children’s Book Fair
    April 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Bologna, Italy
  110. San Antonio Book Festival
    Saturday, April 4, 2020 – San Antonio, Texas
  111. OE Book Fair
    Sunday, April 26, 2020 – Tampa, Florida
  112. Anguilla Literary Festival
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – West End, Anguilla
  113. PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – New York, New York
  114. The Bronx Book Fair
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Bronx, New York
  115. Books in Bloom Literary Festival
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Eureka Springs, Arkansas
  116. Yallwest Santa Monica Book Festival
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Santa Monica, California
  117. Gaithersburg Book Festival
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Gaithersburg, Maryland
  118. Greater St. Louis Book Fair
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – St. Louis, Missouri
  119. The Bocas Lit Fest
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
  120. The Festival of Literary Diversity (FOLD)
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Brampton, Ontario, Canada
  121. Great American Book Festival
    May 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Rapid City, South Dakota
  122. African American Children’s Book Fair
    Saturday, May 11, 2019 – Baltimore, Maryland
  123. Bay Area Book Festival
    Saturday, May 2, 2020 to Sunday, May 3, 2020 – Berkeley, California
  124. Black Pack Party
    Wednesday, May 27, 2020 – New York, New York
  125. Book Expo America
    Wednesday, May 27, 2020 to Friday, May 29, 2020 – New York, New York
  126. BookCon
    Saturday, May 30, 2020 to Sunday, May 31, 2020 – New York, New York
  127. Go On Girl! Book Club Author Awards Weekend
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – , 
  128. Schomburg Center Literary Festival
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – New York, New York
  129. Sacramento Black Book Fair
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Sacramento, California
  130. Austin African American Book Festival
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Austin, Texas
  131. Black Writers Weekend
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Atlanta, Georgia
  132. Calabash International Literary Festival
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Treasure Beach, Jamaica, W.I.
  133. Printers Row Lit Fest
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Chicago, Illinois
  134. Dallas Book Festival
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Dallas, Texas
  135. Romance Slam Jam Convention
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Kansas City, Missouri
  136. The Bronx Book Festival
    June 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Bronx, New York
  137. ALA Conference
    Thursday, June 25, 2020 to Tuesday, June 30, 2020 – Chicago, Illinois
  138. South Florida Book Festival
    July 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  139. Atlanta African American Book Festival
    July 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Atlanta, Georgia
  140. Harlem Book Fair
    Saturday, July 18, 2020 – Harlem, New York
  141. The Atlanta Kick Back
    Saturday, July 18, 2020 – Duluth, Georgia
  142. National Book Club Conference
    August 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Atlanta, Georgia
  143. The Soulful Chicago Book Fair
    August 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Chicago, Illinois
  144. Rocky Mountain Book and Paper Fair
    August 2020 – Dates to be Announced – Denver, Colorado

Check Out Our More Detailed List of Upcoming Events.