Jump to content

jmasseysr

Members
  • Content count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

1 Follower

About jmasseysr

  • Rank
    Newbie
  • Birthday 06/27/1955

Contact Methods

  • MSN
    jmasseysr7
  • Website URL
    http://jmasseysr7.blogspot.com/
  • Yahoo
    jmasseysr7

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Chicago
  • Interests
    Author is a 54 year-old author who also writes under the pseudonym of “Poor Richard’s Son.” He is a native of Chicago, Illinois and a Viet Nam Era U.S. Air Force veteran. Massey, a graduate of Dayton, Ohio’s Wright State University with a 2000 bachelor of arts degree in English-professional writing, is the author of the cross-genre, Sci-Fi speculative fiction novella “COLD BABY: As If Through A Glass and Darkly” written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler & Dashiell. Hammett’s Noir-driven, Hard-Boiled “Black Mask” writers. He is also a playwright who has authored the contemporary work “The Return of the Prodigal Child.” He has written 20 short stories and as a former journalism intern-reporter published front-page stories and interview articles for the Columbus, Ohio Call and Post newspaper. Interviewees included former U.S. Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders and Capital University Professor of Law and author Floyd D. Weatherspoon. Mr. Massey has also been published on “Dark Planet” webzine as the author of PBS’s “Einstein Revealed” media review.
  1. It is not self-seeking, nor easily angered. It keeps no record of wrongdoing. It does not delight in evil, But rejoices in the truth. It always protects, trusts, hopes, and preserves. There is nothing love cannot face; There is no limit to its faith, hope, and endurance. In a word, there are three things that last forever: Faith, hope, and love; But the greatest of them all is love. 1 Corinthians 13

  2. Speculative Fiction

    ################################################################################## Greetings; In the past, I did a lot of work with writing in the genre of detective fiction and speculative science fiction [i.e. Phillip K. Dick Blade Runner, Issac Asimov's 'Naked Sun, etc.]. I had created several short stories and novellas involving the exploits of a black female, hard-boiled detective series called Cold Baby. Specifically, my work on two stories; "As if Through a Glass & Darkly" and "Cold Baby: Fear No More the Heat of the Sun" have provided me with a literary palette that allowed me to explore exciting narrative constructs within cross-genre dramatic elements. I have learned the value of writing workshops and collaborative brainstorming often lends itself to facilitate explosions of creative epiphanies while offering authors invaluable moments of constructive criticism. However, having weathered past experiences trying to scale the mountains of obstacles prevalent in today's world of fiction publishing, I find today's publishing environment ever more restrictive and not conducive to new authors & fresh works of un-solicited fiction submissions. Without representation by connected literary agencies or insider networking within the shrinking fiction publishing market, new authors often are prevented from gaining access to that first real opportunity to exhibit the fruits of their art & craft. The vast majority of submission guidelines for publishers create a de-facto quarantine against new writers who lack solicitations normally awarded to established literary agents. And quite often, the major agencies will not take on new writers until they have previously been successfully published. I have learned that necessity is the mother of invention. Opportunities in self-publishing, and explorations into web publishing and graphic novels can provide new territories that authors may explore. This is especially true with advances in web-based technologies and the electronics book medium. I also believe that timing can be everything for creative concepts which normally had trouble finding acceptance in the reading public and publishing industry landscapes. Thus, the advent of minority fiction writers finding receptive audiences and publishing partnerships which allow for the distribution of their creative showcases is now at hand; even in theses trying economic times. Personally, I think that my work and more importantly, my new project ideas could stand input and collaboration from fellow writers. I think my literary craftsmanship can use constructive ideas and radical thinking in order to remain fresh, concise and innovative artistically. As well, I could use good advice on ways to reach out & exhibit new projects in a cost effective manner or developing new avenues for funding publishing efforts in advanced venues. I finally would like your opinion on collaborative writing projects and the current state of editing and the impact of ghostwriting arrangements. Again, I would like to turn my 'Cold Baby' works into a serial and would like input into new projects such as the exploits of the 1st Black U.S. Marshal and the decsendents of the Buffalo Soldiers all-Black regiments [becoming the 24th division]even after being disgraced during the Yalu River Chinese offensive of the Korean War. I am very active with the writing venues affored by social networks like Facebook, Twitter, Myspace & FictionPress. I also am thinking about doing something in the espionage/techno -thriller cross-genre [ie Tom Clancy]. I look forward to hearing from you. some examples of my work can be found at http://www.fictionpress.com/~poorrichardsson. A writer til the end; Jeff
  3. Speculative Fiction

    ######################################################################################################### Hi. I too am a fellow writer. I personally find your moderate cynicism absolutely refreshing. All that you say is true. I, in fact, would like to keep in touch and perhaps share thoughts and strategies on all topics germane to culture, the arts and the writing process in today's society. As you know, networking is essential for writers. Feel free to delve into my offerings on Myspace, Facebook, Tweeter, Blogger and FictionPress.com. Until then, stay blessed & keep in contact. Sincerely; Jeffery
  4. Speculative Fiction

    Do Black artists offer ample collaboration, support & mentoring within our creative community?
  5. Greetings

    Personal Information Activities: Professional Writer Interests: Speculative Fiction, Nonprofit Management and Fundraising, Healthcare Policy advocacy and analysis, Film Studies and Literary Review, English Literature, Particle Physics, Medicine & Psychiatry, Detective Fiction-Hardboiled Favorite Music: Jazz, Rythm N Blues, Classical Favorite TV Shows: 24, Mad Men, Entourage, Californication, Dr. Who, Saving Grace, Burn Notice, Masterpiece Theatre, Cnn Reliable Sources, 60 Minutes, The Universe, Frontline, Pardon The Interruption, At the Movies, Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Pov, StarTrek, MASH, Married With Children, The Four Seasons Favorite Movies: Saving Private Ryan, Dr. Strangelove, Failsafe, One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, Lawrence Of Arabia, Butterfield 8, Long Hot Summer, Citizen Kane, Double Indemnity, Silence Of The Lambs, Evil Dead, The Exorcist, The Godfather Trilogy, The Quiet Earth, Solaris, Seven, The Last Emperor, Out of Africa, Out of Sight, Chinatown, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Clock Work Orange, Things to Do in Denver When You're Dead, Blood Simple, No Country For Old Men, There Will Be Blood, Aliens Trilogy, Starship Troopers, Star Trek, Tales From A Parallell Universe, I Worship His Shadow, Deconstructing Harry, Mighty Aphrodite Favorite Books: 2010 Odyssey Two, 3001, The Stand, The Drawing of the Three, The Gunslinger, Foundation Series Isaac Asimov, The Lensman, Dean Koontz,
×