Jump to content

Jamaica Kincaid, Sterling D. Plumpp, Armond White Win American Book Awards


Recommended Posts

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612
August 18, 2014
Contact: Justin Desmangles, 916-425-7916
The Before Columbus Foundation announces the
Winners of the Thirty-Fifth Annual
Ceremonies, October 26, 2014, 2:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-Fifth Annual AMERICAN 
BOOK AWARDS. The 2014 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Sunday, October 26th 
from 2:00-5:00 p.m. at the SF Jazz Center, Joe Henderson Lab, 201 Franklin Street (at Fell), San Francisco, CA.
This event is open to the public. 
The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the 
entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary 
excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The 
award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There 
are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation 
views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of 
various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The 
Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers. 
The 2014 American Book Award Winners are:
Andrew Bacevich
Breach of Trust: How Americans Failed Their Soldiers and Their Country, Metropolitan Books
Joshua Bloom and Waldo E. Martin
Black Against Empire; The History and Politics of the Black Panther Party, University of California Press
Juan Delgado (poetry) and Thomas McGovern (photography)
Vital Signs, Heyday Books
Alex Espinoza
The Five Acts of Diego León, Random House
Jonathan Scott Holloway
Jim Crow Wisdom: Memory and Identity in Black America Since 1940, University of North Carolina Press
Joan Naviyuk Kane
Hyperboreal, University of Pittsburgh Press
Jamaica Kincaid

See Now Then, Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Tanya Olson
Boyishly, YesYes Books
Home/Bass, Third World Press
Emily Raboteau
Jerome Rothenberg with Heriberto Yepez
Eye of Witness: A Jerome Rothenberg Reader, Commonwealth Books
Nick Turse
Kill Anything That Moves: The Real American War in Vietnam, Metropolitan Books
Margaret Wrinkle
Wash, Atlantic Monthly Press
Koon Woon
Water Chasing Water, Kaya Press
Armond White

Anti-Censorship Award:

Michael Parenti
Lifetime Achievement:
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...