Jump to content

Black Writers Sweep the 2019 Kirkus Prize Winning $50K Each!

Recommended Posts

The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction, and young readers’ literature.  


There are 5 finalists in each category, 8 Black writers made up more than half of all the finalists and won every category!  This is quite an accomplishment.  When the award started in 2014 there was only one Black finalist and no winners.*


2019 Kirkus Winners


*This is based upon recent research; if someone finds something that is factually inaccurate please let me know.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...