Book Cover Image of Seven Guitars (1940s Century Cycle) by August Wilson

Seven Guitars (1940s Century Cycle)
by August Wilson

Publication Date: Jan 01, 1996
List Price: $13.00
Format: Paperback, 107 pages
Classification: Fiction
ISBN13: 9780452276925
Imprint: Plume
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Parent Company: Bertelsmann

Paperback Description:

Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Fences and The Piano Lesson
Winner of the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Play

It is the spring of 1948. In the still cool evenings of Pittsburgh’s Hill district, familiar sounds fill the air. A rooster crows. Screen doors slam. The laughter of friends gathered for a backyard card game rises just above the wail of a mother who has lost her son. And there’s the sound of the blues, played and sung by young men and women with little more than a guitar in their hands and a dream in their hearts.August Wilson’s Seven Guitars is the sixth chapter in his continuing theatrical saga that explores the hope, heartbreak, and heritage of the African-American experience in the twentieth century. The story follows a small group of friends who gather following the untimely death of Floyd "Schoolboy" Barton, a local blues guitarist on the edge of stardom. Together, they reminisce about his short life and discover the unspoken passions and undying spirit that live within each of them.

book cover Seven Guitars (1940s Century Cycle) by August WilsonBooks similiar to Seven Guitars (1940s Century Cycle) may be found in the categories below: