Book Cover Image of Mae Makes a Way: The True Story of Mae Reeves, Hat & History Maker by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich

Mae Makes a Way: The True Story of Mae Reeves, Hat & History Maker
by , Illustrated by Andrea Pippins

    Publication Date: May 24, 2022
    List Price: $18.99
    Format: Hardcover, 48 pages
    Classification: Nonfiction
    Target Age Group: Picture Book
    ISBN13: 9780525645856
    Imprint: Crown Books for Young Readers
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann
    Borrow from Library

    Hardcover Description:

    Mae had a dream to make one-of-a-kind hats. But the path for a Black female designer was unclear, so Mae made a way, leaving her home in the segregated South to study at the Chicago School of Millinery.

    Spread from the book Mae Makes a Way

    Mae had the skills but craved the independence to create her own styles. So, Mae found a way. In Philadelphia, she became the first Black woman to own a business on South Street. Whether you were Lena Horne, Ella Fitzgerald, Marian Anderson, or a lady from the neighborhood, Mae wanted you to look good and feel special in one of her original hats.

    Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, Fancy Party Gowns: The Story of Fashion Designer Ann Cole Lowe, and Mae Among the Stars, this inspirational and informative picture book biography paints a picture of the mother, businesswoman, and community advocate who led the way for Black women in fashion. The book also includes interviews with Mae Reeve’s daughter.

    Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, acclaimed author Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich (Two Naomis) and award-winning illustrator Andrea Pippins (I Love My Hair) bring the life of fashion entrepreneur and civic organizer Mae Reeves to the page. And when you are done reading, explore Mae’s store and styles in person at her permanent exhibit at the National Museum of African American History and Culture.




    book cover Mae Makes a Way: The True Story of Mae Reeves, Hat & History Maker by Olugbemisola Rhuday-PerkovichBooks similiar to Mae Makes a Way: The True Story of Mae Reeves, Hat & History Maker may be found in the categories below: