Books Honored by the National Book Awards

National Book Award Medals

The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. Since 1996, independent panels of five writers have chosen the National Book Award winners in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.

The first African-American writer to win a National Book Award was Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man.

Check Out AALBC’s Coverage of the National Book Awards:  20172016201520142013

2 Books Honored by the National Book Awards in 1991

Winner - Nonfiction

Freedom: Volume I: Freedom In The Making Of Western Culture
by Orlando Patterson

Publication Date:
List Price: $24.00 (store prices may vary)
Format: Paperback
Classification: Nonfiction
Page Count: x512
ISBN13: 9780465025329
Imprint: Basic Books
Publisher: Perseus Books
Parent Company: Hachette Livre

Book Description: 
This magisterial work traces the history of our most cherished value. Patterson links the birth of freedom in primitive societies with the institution of slavery, and traces the evolution of three forms of freedom in the West from antiquity through the Middle Ages.

Finalist - Poetry

The Homeplace: Poems
by Marilyn Nelson

Publication Date:
List Price: $16.95 (store prices may vary)
Format: Paperback
Classification: Poetry
Page Count: x64
ISBN13: 9780807116418
Imprint: Louisiana State University Press
Publisher: Louisiana State University Press
Parent Company: Louisiana State University

Book Description: 
A fine softcover copy. Inscribed by the poet. Tight binding. Clean, unmarked pages. Not ex-library. Shipped Weight: Under 1 kilogram. Category: Poetry; Signed by Author. ’ 0807116416. ISBN/EAN: 9780807116418. Inventory No: 012322.