Click for a larger image of Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
by Rita Williams-Garcia, Illustrated by Frank Morrison

Publication Date:
List Price: $16.99
Format: Hardcover, 176 pages
Classification: Children’s
Age: 8 - 12 years
ISBN13: 9780062215918
Imprint: Amistad
Publisher: HarperCollins
Parent Company: News Corporation
Borrow from Library

Book Description:
A National Book Award Longlist title that has earned 5 starred reviews!"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart.” —School Library Journal (starred review)"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words.” —Booklist (starred review)From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

book cover Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-GarciaMore books like Clayton Byrd Goes Underground may be found by selecting the categories below:


Tell us what do you think about Clayton Byrd Goes Underground.


Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.