AALBC.com LogoCopyright © 1997-2017, All Rights Reserved — https://aalbc.com — troy@aalbc.com — Tel: 347-692-2522

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
by Rita Williams-Garcia



Publication Date:
List Price: $16.99 (store prices may vary)
Format: Hardcover
Classification: Children’s
Page Count: 176
ISBN13: 9780062215918
Imprint: Amistad
Publisher: HarperCollins
Parent Company: News Corporation

Book Description: 


A National Book Award Longlist title that has earned 5 starred reviews!"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart.” —School Library Journal (starred review)"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words.” —Booklist (starred review)From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

Tell us what do you think about Clayton Byrd Goes Underground.








Vote for Your Favorite Black Author of the 21st Century
25 African Male Writers You Should ReadAfrican Men: 25 You Must Read

AALBC.com Bestselling BooksAALBC.com Bestselling Books


Printed: October 17, 2017, 1:58 am
☆ Mission
To Celebrate Black Culture Through Literature and Literary Nonfiction to Readers of all Backgrounds and Ages; and Advocate for Independent Media

☥ About Us
Started in 1997, AALBC.com (African American Literature Book Club) is the largest, most frequently visited web site of its kind. More
Customer Service
Advertising Rates
Advertiser Login
Contact Us – FAQ
Give Us Feedback
AALBC on Pinterest AALBC on Facebook AALBC on Twitter
AALBC RSS Feed AALBC on Youtube Email AALBC