Books Honored by the National Book Foundation

National Book Award Medals

The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. National Book Awards are given five categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature.

The first African-American writer to win a National Book Award was Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man.

Check Out AALBC’s Coverage of the National Book Awards:  20172016201520142013

One Book Honored by the National Book Foundation in 1976

Finalist - Poetry

how i got ovah
by Carolyn Marie Rodgers

    Publication Date:
    List Price: Unavailable
    Format: Hardcover, 81 pages
    Classification: Poetry
    ISBN13: 9780385046701
    Imprint: Anchor
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann
    Borrow from Library

    Read a Description of how i got ovah

    Book Description: 

    The idea of crossing over to a new way of life provides the substance that Rodgers explicitly longed for in several poems of self-doubt about her writing. Her third book takes its title from this concern: How I Got Ovah (1975) collects new and selected poems in a volume that marks a turning point in Rodgers's career. Like Giovanni and Sanchez, Rodgers rejects the official hatred of the liberation movement and embraces love. "Some of Me Beauty" (53) recalls and dismisses her revolutionary persona:

    the fact is
    that i don't hate any body any more
    i went through my mean period.

    Now, however, she awakes to find herself

    not imani man jua or soul sister poetess of
    the moment
    i saw more than a "sister". . .
    i saw a Woman. human.
    and black.
    i felt a spiritual transformation
    a root revival of love.

    The correlation between a spiritual transformation and the revival of love is critical.  Read the full review and more written about by Karen Ford.