5 Books Published by Inkyard Press on Our Site — Book Cover Mosaic

Click for more detail about The Right Side of Reckless by Whitney D. Grandison The Right Side of Reckless

by Whitney D. Grandison
Inkyard Press (Jul 13, 2021)
Read Detailed Book Description

A bad boy who needs a second chance, a good girl who is off limits, forbidden friendship and flying sparks… What happens when a rule-follower meets a reckless rebel?

Being a rule follower can get exhausting. And sometimes being a rebel can wear you down too. Following her debut, A Love Hate Thing, Wattpad sensation Whitney D. Grandison’s sophomore novel is an edgy #OwnVoices and addictive YA romance about forbidden friendship and undeniable attraction. The Right Side of Reckless highlights the pressures that teen MC’s face as they navigate peers, parents and societal expectations.

Guillermo Lozano is getting a fresh start. New town, new school, and no more reckless behavior. He’s done his time, and now he needs to right his wrongs. But when his work at the local community center throws him into the path of the one girl who is off-limits, friendship sparks…and maybe something more.

Regan London needs a fresh perspective. The pressure to stay in her “perfect” relationship and be the good girl all the time has worn her down. But when the walls start to cave in and she finds unexpected understanding from the boy her parents warned about, she can’t ignore her feelings anymore.

The disapproval is instant. And being together might just get Guillermo sent away. But when it comes to the heart, sometimes you have to break the rules and be a little bit reckless…


Click for more detail about One of the Good Ones by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite One of the Good Ones

by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite
Inkyard Press (Jan 05, 2021)
Read Detailed Book Description

The Hate U Give meets Get Out in an honest and powerful exploration of prejudice in this stunning novel.

“One of the Good Ones” is a phrase that is often weaponized against marginalized groups, to indicate that there are “good” members of those communities, while implying the rest are viewed as unworthy. “It’s something that ‘well-intentioned’ people say all the time without realizing how harmful it is,” write Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine in the author’s note of the enclosed galley in your hands, “‘One of the Good Ones’ is usually code for a person our country deems worthy. That importance is typically tied to level of education, income, class, zip code, gender identity, sexual orientation. If most or all of those acceptable boxes are checked, then we care.”

When teen social activist and history buff Kezi Smith is killed under suspicious circumstances after attending a social justice rally, her devastated sisters Happi and Genny are left reeling in the aftermath. As Kezi becomes another immortalized victim in the fight against police brutality, Happi begins to question the idealized way her sister is remembered. Perfect. Angelic.

Even as the phrase rings wrong in her mind—why are only certain people deemed worthy to be missed?—Happi and Genny embark on a road trip to honor Kezi in their own way, using an heirloom copy of The Negro Motorist Green Book as their guide. But there’s a twist to Kezi’s story that will change everything all over again.

“Even after the cameras leave and life moves on for the rest of the country, there are countless families and friends who now have to deal with the traumatic aftermath of the death of a loved one,” write the Moulites, “and the truth is, respectability, whatever that is, doesn’t save us.”

This is a book that explores the conversation that our country is finally having, head on. With candor, honesty, and grace, the Moulites have written a powerful story that transcends the pages and takes a hard look at what it means to be “one of the good ones,” when being human should be enough.

“An enchanting and engrossing novel full of wit and laughter along with a tantalizing generational mystery. Alaine Beauparlant is that rare character who feels like your complicated but indispensable friend.”—Edwidge Danticat, author of Breath, Eyes, Memory

“Remarkable, funny, and whip-smart… Dear Haiti, Love Alaine is, at its heart, also an American story—necessary, hopeful, and enlightening.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street, National Book Award finalist

One of the Good Ones is more than a spectacular thriller — it’s also a compass, seeping into your soul and helping you redefine your true north. Impactful, insightful, and perfectly timed. Get ready. Maika and Maritza Moulite are the real deal.rdquo Brad Meltzer, bestselling author of The Escape Artist


Click for more detail about Smash It! by Francina Simone Smash It!

by Francina Simone
Inkyard Press (Sep 22, 2020)
Read Detailed Book Description


Refreshingly authentic and bold… Don’t miss this smashing #ownvoices novel from Francina Simone! Filled with heart, humor and a heroine to root for, Smash It! is a perfect read for fans of Julie Murphy, Ibi Zoboi and Ashley Poston.

Olivia "Liv" James is done with letting her insecurities get the best of her. So she does what any self-respecting hot mess of a girl who wants to SMASH junior year does…

After Liv shows up to a Halloween party in khaki shorts—why, God, why?—she decides to set aside her wack AF ways. She makes a list—a F*ck-It list.

1. Be bold—do the thing that scares me.

2. Learn to take a compliment.

3. Stand out instead of back.

She kicks it off by trying out for the school musical, saying yes to a date and making new friends. Life is great when you stop punking yourself! However, with change comes a lot of missteps, and being bold means following her heart. So what happens when Liv’s heart is interested in three different guys—and two of them are her best friends? What is she supposed to do when she gets dumped by a guy she’s not even dating? How does one Smash It! after the humiliation of being friend-zoned?

In Liv’s own words, "F*ck it. What’s the worst that can happen?"

A lot, apparently.

#SMASHIT


Click for more detail about A Love Hate Thing by Whitney D. Grandison A Love Hate Thing

by Whitney D. Grandison
Inkyard Press (Jan 07, 2020)
Read Detailed Book Description

When they’re stuck under one roof, the house may not be big enough for their hate…or their love.

When Tyson Trice finds himself tossed into the affluent coastal community of Pacific Hills, he’s ready for the questions, the stares and the feeling of not belonging in the posh suburb. Not that he cares. After recovering from being shot and surviving the mean streets of Lindenwood, he doesn’t care about anyone or anything. He doesn’t even care how the rest of his life will play out.

In Pacific Hills, image is everything. Something that, as the resident golden girl, Nandy Smith knows all too well. She’s spent most of her life building the pristine image it takes to fit in. After learning that her parents are taking in a teen boy, Nandy fears her summer plans, as well as her reputation, will go up in flames. It’s the start of summer vacation, and the last thing Nandy needs is some juvenile delinquent from the ’Wood crashing into her world.

Stuck together in close quarters, Trice and Nandy are in for some long summer nights. Only, with the ever-present pull back to the Lindenwood streets, it’ll be a wonder if Trice makes it through this summer at all.


Click for more detail about Dear Haiti, Love Alaine (Original) by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite Dear Haiti, Love Alaine (Original)

by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite
Inkyard Press (Sep 03, 2019)
Read Detailed Book Description


"I couldn’t put Dear Haiti, Love Alaine down!" —New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory

"An enchanting and engrossing novel full of wit and laughter." —Edwidge Danticat, author of Breath, Eyes, Memory

"Remarkable, funny, and whip-smart." —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street, National Book Award finalist

"Maika and Maritza Moulite have created quite the masterpiece." —NPR.org

"Alaine’s sarcastic quips...are worth the price of admission alone." —HYPEBAE

"A beautiful story from start to finish." —Buzzfeed

Alaine Beauparlant has heard about Haiti all her life...

But the stories were always passed down from her dad—and her mom, when she wasn’t too busy with her high-profile newscaster gig. But when Alaine’s life goes a bit sideways, it’s time to finally visit Haiti herself.

What she learns about Haiti’s proud history as the world’s first black republic (with its even prouder people) is one thing, but what she learns about her own family is another. Suddenly, the secrets Alaine’s mom has been keeping, including a family curse that has spanned generations, can no longer be avoided.

It’s a lot to handle, without even mentioning that Alaine is also working for her aunt’s nonprofit, which sends underprivileged kids to school and boasts one annoyingly charming intern.

But if anyone can do it all...it’s Alaine.

"Delightful." —Essence magazine

"Alaine Beauparlant is YA’s new favorite heroine." —Author Nina Moreno for Bustle

"Seamlessly blending story lines and allusions to Haiti’s history and culture, the authors create an indelible, believable character in Alaine—naive, dynamic, and brutally honest—who stretches and grows as her remarkable, affectingly rendered family relationships do." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Sisters Maika and Maritza Moulite deliver a phenomenal coming-of-age story with this stunning novel." —Booklist (starred review)

"Enchanting." —Kirkus Reviews

Winner of a Parent’s Choice Award!

Don’t miss Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite’s second novel, One of the Good Ones, available January 5, 2021.