Black Males and Emotional Disability

Guest Cheryl Fitts

Guest Cheryl Fitts

As a former special education teacher in South Carolina public schools, I know first hand the trials of young Black males deemed Emotionally Disabled and placed in special education classrooms. I remember the pain I felt seeing these promising young men struggle to be heard. Very few educators recognized their cry for justice and respect in an educational system that almost dismissed them as insignificant.  I encouraged my students to use wisdom. Yes, your voice should be heard and can be heard! The methods you use and the time you choose is crucial! I wonder now how these young men are doing. Statistics say most of them will be imprisoned and/or live in poverty all their lives. How are you? What has happened since you left school? I'm listening!

This is a great topic.
I'm not an expert on the matter but I can give my opinions based on my personal observations and assessment.

A lot of AfroAmericans ARE indeed emotionally disabled because many of our people suffer from serious psychological and even psychiatric problems that cause emotional instability.

Among the causes are:

-The stresses of overt and covert racism
-A society with too many laws and an overly complex legal system making it difficult for some of our people to avoid trouble
-A society where the ability just to provide the 4 basic needs for one's self becomes increasingly difficult and demands more education
-Living in neighborhoods where crime and the threat of violence is the norm
-Food and medicine purposely infused with chemicals that are toxic to the human body and are designed to cause sickness and psychiatric problems
-Drug and alcohol abuse leading to violence, poor mental health, ect...
-Negative music and other forms of entertainment designed to promote violence and dysfunction in the individual and community