Click for a larger image of We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

We Cast a Shadow: A Novel
by Maurice Carlos Ruffin

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $27.00
    Format: Hardcover, 336 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    ISBN13: 9780525509066
    Imprint: One World
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann and Pearson PLC
    Borrow from Library

    Book Description:
    “An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white

    “Stunning and audacious . . . at once a pitch-black comedy, a chilling horror story and an endlessly perceptive novel about the possible future of race in America.”—NPR

    “You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before.” This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga’s clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body—if you can afford it.

    In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process?

    This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin’s work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.

    Praise for We Cast a Shadow

    “A full-throated novelistic debut of ferocious power and grace . . . a story that refracts the insanity of the world into a shape so unique you wonder how this book wasn’t there all along.”—Lit Hub, Most Anticipated Books of 2019

    “Propulsive . . . We Cast a Shadow proves that the eeriest works of speculative fiction are those that hit closest to home.”—Vulture, 37 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2019

    “Inventive and shocking . . . One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2019.”—Los Angeles Times

    “A biting satire of anti-blackness in the US.”—Buzzfeed, 66 Books Coming in 2019 That You’ll Want to Keep on Your Radar

    “Written with ruthless intelligence.”—Ren e Graham, The Boston Globe

    book cover We Cast a Shadow: A NovelMore books like We Cast a Shadow: A Novel may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about We Cast a Shadow: A Novel.


    Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.