Click for a larger image of If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition

If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition
by Jacqueline Woodson

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $17.99 (store prices may vary)
    Format: Hardcover
    Classification: Children’s
    Page Count: 192
    ISBN13: 9780525515487
    Imprint: Nancy Paulsen Books
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann and Pearson PLC

    Book Description:
    A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson—now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

    Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he’s going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don’t exactly fit in there. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together—even though she’s Jewish and he’s black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

    Jacqueline Woodson’s work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering "why" and "if only . . ."

    More books like If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition may be found by selecting the categories below:


    Tell us what do you think about If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition.