Book Cover Image of American Ace by Marilyn Nelson

American Ace
by Marilyn Nelson

    Publication Date:
    List Price: $17.99
    Format: Hardcover, 128 pages
    Classification: Fiction
    Target Age Group: Young Adult
    ISBN13: 9780803733053
    Imprint: Dial Books for Young Readers
    Publisher: Penguin Random House
    Parent Company: Bertelsmann
    Borrow from Library

    Hardcover Description:
    This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity

    Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter’s confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.

    But the only clues to this birth father’s identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot’s wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate—a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. What Connor discovers will lead him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.


    book cover American Ace by Marilyn NelsonMore books like American Ace may be found by selecting the categories below: