3 Books Published by Llewellyn Publications on Our Site — Book Cover Mosaic

Click for more detail about African American Tarot (English and Spanish Edition) by Lo Scarabeo African American Tarot (English and Spanish Edition)

by Lo Scarabeo
Llewellyn Worldwide (May 08, 2007)
Read Detailed Book Description


The culture of two continents blends together in this one-of-a-kind tarot deck-creating a fresh perspective on what it means to be African-American. Publisher Review: Although actually more focused on African myth and lore rather than African American contributions to civilization, this deck is a wonderful introduction to both explorations as well as being close enough to the RWS tradition as to be useful as a divination tool for any Tarot reader. Great for those interested in African culture and pride, as well as for meditation and past life regressions. In-Depth Review: This deck is terrific, a wonderful resource to begin learning about African culture and history. Each card has an image [read more]


Click for more detail about Deuce’s Wild: The Shango Mysteries by Clyde W. Ford Deuce’s Wild: The Shango Mysteries

by Clyde W. Ford
Midnight Ink (Jul 08, 2006)
Read Detailed Book Description


John Shannon’s son J. J. is a huge fan of hip-hop artist Yousef al-Salaam, formerly Deuce F., who recently converted to Sufism, a mystical order of Islam. The popular musician also happens to be on a terrorist watch list. When al-Salaam is shot outside a Manhattan nightclub, Shannon agrees to investigate the murder as a favor to J. J. Was al-Salaam entangled in a feud with East Coast gangsta rapper T-Mo? Or was he caught on the wrong side of Islam extremism?
The NYPD has given up on the case and, after a close call with T-Mo’s thugs, so has Shannon. But something—curiosity, ego, anger?—drives him to penetrate the murky mystery surrounding al-Salaam, whose search for enlightenment reminds Shannon of his own quest for personal growth.


Click for more detail about The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries by Clyde W. Ford The Long Mile: The Shango Mysteries

by Clyde W. Ford
Midnight Ink (Oct 08, 2005)
Read Detailed Book Description


Winner of the 2006 Independent Publisher Book Award (IPPY) for Best Mystery/Suspense/Thriller!†This gritty detective thriller, set in New York City, relates one African-American man’s riveting quest for truth and redemption.

Framed for murder during a failed drug bust, former NYPD officer John Shannon spends two years in jail before his release on appeal. Eager to find the true killer and clear his name, he enjoys two scant minutes of freedom before being brutally arrested, knocked unconscious, and whisked away to the Office of Municipal Security, run by a former CIA director. Refusing their job offer, Shannon heads home to make amends with his estranged wife and discovers terrifying news: his teenage son J. J., who has become mixed up with a drug gang, has been kidnapped. Shannon’s desperate search for J. J. is complicated by a new warrant for his arrest, the mysterious murder of his former partner, and Shannon’s personal struggle with anger, violence, and justice.

Written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Walter Mosley, this is the first in a series of thrillers featuring the compelling character of John Shannon.

Click here to download Book Club Questions for The Long Mile, prepared by author Clyde W. Ford!