American Book Award Winners

Before Columbus Foundation Logo First presented in 1980, by the Before Columbus Foundation, “the American Book Awards Program respects and honors excellence in American literature without restriction or bias with regard to race, sex, creed, cultural origin, size of press or ad budget, or even genre. There would be no requirements, restrictions, limitations, or second places. There would be no categories. The winners would not selected by any set quota for diversity, because diversity happens naturally. Finally, there would be no losers, only winners. The only criteria would be outstanding contribution to American literature in the opinion of the judges.”

Here we present the American Book Award recipients of African descent.

3 Books Honored in 1993


Elevating the Game: Black Men and Basketball
by Nelson George

Publication Date: Nov 01, 1999
List Price: $18.95
Format: Paperback, 277 pages
Classification: Nonfiction
ISBN13: 9780803270855
Imprint: University of Nebraska Press
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Parent Company: University of Nebraska

Read a Description of Elevating the Game: Black Men and Basketball

Book Description: 
Book by George, Nelson


The Eye In The Ceiling: Poems
by Eugene B. Redmond

Publication Date: Mar 01, 1992
List Price: $12.00
Format: Paperback, 181 pages
Classification: Poetry
ISBN13: 9780863163074
Imprint: Writers and Readers Publishing
Publisher: Writers & Readers Publishing
Parent Company: For Beginners LLC

Read a Description of The Eye In The Ceiling: Poems

Book Description: 
Book by Redmond, Eugene B.


Prophetic Thought in Postmodern Times
by Cornel West

Publication Date: Jan 01, 1993
List Price: $14.95
Format: Paperback, 205 pages
Classification: Nonfiction
ISBN13: 9781567510041
Imprint: Common Courage Press
Publisher: Common Courage Press
Parent Company: Common Courage Press

Read a Description of Prophetic Thought in Postmodern Times

Book Description: 
Book by West, Cornel