Click for a larger image of Harlem’s Little Blackbird

Harlem’s Little Blackbird
by Renée Watson, Illustrated by Christian Robinson

Publication Date:
List Price: $17.99
Format: Hardcover, 40 pages
Classification: Children’s
ISBN13: 9780375869730
Imprint: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Parent Company: Bertelsmann and Pearson PLC
Borrow from Library

Book Description:
Zora and Langston. Billie and Bessie. Eubie and Duke. If the Harlem Renaissance had a court, they were its kings and queens. But there were other, lesser known individuals whose contributions were just as impactful, such as Florence Mills. Born to parents who were former-slaves Florence knew early on that she loved to sing. And that people really responded to her sweet, bird-like voice. Her dancing and singing catapulted her all the way to the stages of 1920s Broadway where she inspired songs and even entire plays! Yet with all this success, she knew firsthand how bigotry shaped her world. And when she was offered the role of a lifetime from Ziegfeld himself, she chose to support all-black musicals instead.

Fans of When Marian Sang and Ella Fitzgerald: The Tale of a Vocal Virtuosa will jump at the chance to discover another talented performer whose voice transcended and transformed the circumstances society placed on her.


book cover Harlem’s Little BlackbirdMore books like Harlem’s Little Blackbird may be found by selecting the categories below:


Tell us what do you think about Harlem’s Little Blackbird.


Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.