Books Honored by the National Book Foundation

National Book Award Medals

The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America. National Book Awards are given five categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature.

Here we highlight the winners of African descent. The first African-American writer to win a National Book Award was Ralph Ellison, in 1953, for Invisible Man.

Check Out AALBC’s Coverage of the National Book Awards:  20172016201520142013

3 Books Honored by the National Book Foundation in 2014

Winner - Young People’s Literature

Finalist - Poetry

The Feel Trio
by Fred Moten

    Publication Date: Apr 15, 2014
    List Price: $20.00
    Format: Paperback, 104 pages
    Classification: Poetry
    ISBN13: 9780988713710
    Imprint: Letter Machine Editions
    Publisher: Letter Machine Editions
    Parent Company: Letter Machine Editions

    Read a Description of The Feel Trio

    Finalist - Poetry