I just want equal consideration

Hello, my fellow black writers. I’m a recent graduate (June 2017) of Full Sail University with a Bachelor’s degree for Creative Writing in Entertainment. I write character-driven drama films focused around the young black man to give our society a different viewpoint of who we are and to show that we’re living humans like everyone else.

I introduce myself to you all on here in frustration. I feel that I’m not being given fair consideration when it comes to the writing jobs out there. Here it is November again, I’ve been looking for a writing job since last November. And don’t mean I’m just out her trying to zap a screenwriting career, I mean me securing a writing job where I can contribute my strengths. Whether creative writer position, scriptwriter position, things in that realm.

Between that time, all the way up to now (and pending), I have contacted nearly 240 companies everywhere (areas in the US and the UK), and I have been shunned, more of no one responding than anything else. And ones that do respond say, “you have good quality writing,” but it didn’t lead to a job, it led to some excuse why I wouldn’t be a fit. Or I’m offered an unpaid internship to fly somewhere else (like, I’m oppressed). The little spending money I did have were from school loans that I must start paying on this month. But, I don’t have any money now because I haven’t been given any consideration a writing job. Yes, I know I could go back to the $7.50 an hour KFC job out there, but what does that do for me? Why do we always have to be held to that?